PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

someday (poem)

Wednesday, Oct. 09, 2002

 

Someday

 

You must think that I am looking for perfection

What amazes me about your misled thought...

I�m just a little too close

To accepting you unconditionally

All I really need from you

Is for you to let me love you

For you to let me wish

 

I�ve been standing at this doorway

Always closed or just ajar

Never closing

Ever closer than you are ever

Really just too far

 

Please my friend

Won�t you just come meet me

Meet me in the doorjamb

And let me follow you right behind

A whisper in your midst

That is the only way

I want to ever tumble in

Closer to your mind

 

Sometimes I think I�ll send you

A letter

And leave out twenty of the most

Important words

And if you still understand me

Then that�s just how it was

Meant to be with us

That�s how you�ve always

Just found a way to read my silence

Even though nobody else

Has ever really heard

 

I know that you aren�t perfect

In your eyes you see the cracks

I keep skipping over them

Because no matter what has transpired

How many nights I curve away from

A thousand jumbled fears

You remain my worthy reason

To try and then try again

To find my best way back

Despite the painful tears

 

So many days I crumbled

You were the ladder that helped me up

Whenever you traveled with me

I�ve never got lost

Somehow with you I can see

If nothing gave me my direction

And I simply found it by myself

You must have paid the price for me

Because I�ve never known the cost

 

Hold out your hand to me

Just once even if you hold your breath

Let me move just a little closer

I don�t want to just remember you

By mostly foggy pieced together text

It is your face I want to take with me

From this life into my next

 

You are a letter left unopened

Sprayed with a beautiful world�s exhale

Take a chance not for me

Or for my happiness

Let me love you with everything

Because I have never learned to

Care for you any differently

Or even any less

 

Let�s hold our breath together

Even if we both turn blue

I don�t want to ever find that death

Is really all about sitting forever

And I never ever found out

How beautiful it might be

To sit and do nothing

Just because I never had the chance

To come sit and be with you

 

 -PoeticaL

 

 

 

9:07 p.m. ::
prev :: next