PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

life is surreal (prose)

Saturday, Oct. 26, 2002
This morning I opened my eyes and butterflies flew out. I watched them fly to the top corner of the bedroom. They gathered there and started to pull dandelions out of their baby blue jeans. They knitted with their hands and all the while petals fell onto my florida sunshine carpeting. I watched in amazement. Rubbed my eyes, and they were gone. I shook my head and tried to wake up.

Then I stood outside in the hallway listening to my son�s sleepy breathing. Shallow breaths. I cracked the door ajar very quietly and noticed a band of ladybugs marching down the side of his bed towards me playing music on baby bug flutes. They were playing a pretty song I used to hear when I was his age. I watched the glint of each flute being hit by the sky blue breeze filing through his window. Again I shook my head and they were gone.

I walked into the kitchen and turned my coffee pot on. Poured clean bright water inside. And stood leaning against the countertop. I noticed my neighbor outside pushing a lawn mower and the grass clippings were flying out forming a mountain of bright colorful candy in an isle formation to the left of his mower movements. I rubbed my temples and the piles of bottlecaps, spree, and sweet tarts turned back into grass.

My coffee cup full of hazelnut warmth I moved back down the hall. I filed the Jacuzzi bathtub with clear warm water and shed my pajamas on the cold tile floor. I lit my cranberry candle and turned the lights off, the only light was from the candle and the glow of the sun through the mosaic glass. My son�s shallow breathing and my chin just above the raspberry scented bubbles was all I focused on. My pink painted toenails wet in the spray of the jacuzzi.dance opened up like tiny envelopes and heart shaped love letters flew up and wrote themselves all over my ceiling creating white fluffy animals that threw down smiles at me. This time I didn�t shake my head. I opened my eyes wide and cried happy tears and I pushed my tongue out to catch the crumbs sprinkling down from the animal crackers grazing in fields on my ceiling.

Life is what you make of it, it is always how you chose to see things. My eyes are wide open to the possibilities and my dreams are screaming to be met. My arms no longer fear being empty. My heart is full enough being alone.

My shoes are red sequins. I will clank them together one day soon. I will fly on my own bicycle. Someday I will broadcast my thoughts to the masses when I say �Houston we no longer have a problem, I am just not in Kansas anymore.� My books will scatter themselves on new floors like graffiti on new york bridges. I will walk across the torrents on my own two feet. I wanna get paid to write fiction, it should be a crime to write lies.

-PoeticaL


I was walking in the park dreaming of a spark
When I heard the sprinklers whisper,
Shimmer in the haze of summer lawns.
Then I heard the children singing,
They were running through the rainbows
. They were singing a song for you.
Well it seemed to be a song for you,
The one I wanted to write for you, for you, you.

Lavenders blue, dilly dilly, lavenders green,
When I am King, dilly dilly,
You will be Queen.

A penny for your thoughts my dear,
A penny for your thoughts my dear,
I.O.U. for your love, I.O.U. for your love.

Lavenders green, dilly dilly, lavenders blue.
When you love me, dilly dilly, I will love you.
A penny for your thoughts my dear,
A penny for your thoughts my dear,
I.O.U. for your love, I.O.U. for your love.

Lavender dreams dilly, dilly lavender true,
When you miss me dilly dilly, I did miss you
A penny for your thoughts my dear
A Penny for your thoughts my dear
I.O.U for your love, I.O.U. for your love
For your love, for your love, for your love

Oh, I gotta find my way back to you
Gotta find my way back to you
For your love, for your love, for your love
I'm always walking in the park
Always dreaming of a spark
From you...

-Marillion

2:30 p.m. ::
prev :: next