PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

take two books and call me in the morning!

Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006
I am going back to work on Friday. Yes Friday. One stupid day. And then I will have a 3 day weekend and will resume normalcy in my world thereafter. I wanted to go back tomorrow but the powers that be in HR state that I need to have paperwork signed by my doctor.

So, I went today to drop off the paperwork for him to sign tomorrow and get this�.there is a $10 charge to have the doctor fill out a two page form. Are they serious? Yes. Quite sad. I told Rick I am going to snap a photo of Dr. Romeo and ask him to sign it. If he does so without charge I am going to sell it on ebay and hope to earn my $10 back. Don�t get me wrong it matters not that it was $10. I�ve spent more than that on less, but to be so important that you can charge people for your time and you are not Donald Trump but are a gynecologist? I mean�.really....

The last two months have been mentally and physically debilitating for me. I�ve had far worse months in my lifetime and the outcome is bright and good, so I don�t say this for sympathy but rather to put closure on it. It�s been a trying time of cancer scares, physical fears as well as mental re-evaluations. I�m looking forward to gaining more good health and I�m excited in a subliminal way, to try seriously and with medical aid to have a baby with Rick.

In the last two days of restlessness I have visited both of the closest bookstores in my area. These are my latest buys:

Because my best friend Carla has told me many times to read it�.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Because it was on sale for $3.99 and one day when the hype is completely over I will read it.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Because this books setting is St Johns, Newfoundland. The hometown of Carla. I heard about this town for years and years and though I�ve never been there�my soul has.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Because I read the first ten pages and love the way this author writes already�.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I really bought this one last week, because it�s gotten so much Internet press I couldn�t resist. And it�s a first time novel for the author and that�s always fun.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I bought this one (despite my fears of causing much pain) because I haven�t read much Joyce Carol Oates, and that just seems wrong on so many levels.

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I haven�t read much this past week because when I�m not feeling well my eyes always tire quickly and on top of having surgery I�ve also been fighting a slight head cold that�s caused congestion and sore throat and an ongoing slight headache. I feel better today but still not quite up to normal. I�m confident I�m doing great. I have no real effects from the surgery leftover. A little soreness at the biggest surgical sight but it�s moved more to itchiness and that means it�s healing so I�m not bothered at all.

I did my laundry yesterday, made dinner tonight and intend to take it easy tomorrow doing some much looked forward to reading.

I wanted to thank everyone for their well wishes, support, text msgs, emails and online cards and prayers. I appreciate all of it immensely.

I cannot thank Chloe on my website because though she is quite intelligent she sadly cannot partake of the joys of reading via the Internet, so I bought her a big chewy bone tonight for all her hard work in her nursemaid duties as well as her impeccable guarding work. She�s the best! There is certainly nothing like having your furry friend stand by you day and night while you moan and move slowly about.

I think the best medicine for me today was a hot cup of coffee, a new bag of books, and a hot homemade dinner. And, even though he rarely reads my dribbling here, special thanks to Rick for cleaning up the aftermath of dinner tonight�.I love you!

p.s. today I watched A Baby Story on TV without crying!!! I also informed Rick of what we will name a baby girl if we are blessed enough to have one. He said, "no!" but he was smiling.

When I grumbled about having another day off of work that I didn't want my boss, who rocks in the biggest way, exclaimed in a bored voice, "So what, go buy yourself a pair of "I have only one ovary now shoes" tomorrow. Yes, she's the best!!

12:43 a.m. ::
prev :: next