PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

the long and the short of it

Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004
January 22, 2004

Ms. Kristy ####
#### #th ###### North ###
St. Petersburg, FL #####

Dear Kristy,

I would like to extend an offer to you for the position of office administrator at ####### Technology ####, Inc. reporting directly to me. This is a full-time position, working from the office in Clearwater, to provide administrative support for both ######## Technology Partners and ###### Management Associates.

Your compensation will be $##.00/hour for the first 90 days with an increase to $##.##/hour thereafter. The company will also provide you with a healthcare allowance equal to 70% of your monthly health insurance premium but not to exceed $###/month.

Finally, we will require you to sign a non-compete/non-disclosure document for both ######## Technology ##### and ###### Management Associates as a condition of your employment.

If there is anything you would like to discuss or need further clarification on, please call me as soon as possible on my cell phone at (727) ###-####. We would like you start on or as soon after January 26th as possible.

Sincerely,

###### #. #######
President


This job application/interview experience has been such a grand one. I'm beaming from ear to ear. I also went into work this morning and then got word via a msg on my voice mail from the new company that they had submitted an offer to me. I sat down with Michael Miller, my now former boss and the conversation went entirely different than I had planned or expected.

He told me he was planning on giving me a "team lead" position in the collection's department whereby I'd have more responsibilities. He said my numbers (money collected) had increased by leaps and bounds and I clearly displayed that I had set about attacking the task of collections like a complete professional. Then he stated he was dismayed at my decision and that he had invested so much time and energy in training me and getting me to this achievement and would encourage me not to leave without any notice like I was about to do because I would need his recommendation one day. He further told me if I worked a 2 week notice out for him that he would consider me to be re-hirable at that time. But without doing so I was not re-hirable. He whined, complained, begged, pleaded and nearly at one point got on his knees asking me not to leave. He kept saying "are you sure this new opportunity is long term and will lead you in the direction of your long term goals?"

I sat threw his tirade like many others and then simply replied. "You are a smart man, I have no doubt you were a great collector, but you my friend have some suckass people skills." He had asked me why I had chosen to even look for another job and I told him the following. "Futhermore I am leaving because I can no longer tolerate the morning MILLERtime meetings, I can't stand the way you walk around the floor like you are Hitler and we are to fear you. I don't much care if you ever give me a reference in my lifetime because if you had not noticed, I just got an amazing job and NO ONE ever called YOU. He then asked, "How are you going to explain a 4 month gap in your resume?" To which I replied, "trip to Europe...um...maybe I'll say it was a time out for personal growth, maybe my former employer already told me I can account for those months by stating I've been there all along....or perhaps I'll list that I worked for my ex-husband's company during that period of time, after all he's a grand liar and will surely lie for me after years of lying to me"..."but either way I don't need you, want you, or desire your new fandangled offers..or rather empty promises that come too late." He said, "I'm confused at your response, you've always been such a delightful worker to have around." To which I replied, "I am a good employee but as of 45 minutes ago I determined that I was no longer YOUR employee."

He sat in silence and then stated very calmly "good luck Kristy". To which I replied, "thanks but I don't need your well wishes Michael." And I left. I got to my little cube in collector hell and packed up my few belongings, a few pencil drawings a co-worker made for me and everyone gathered around in celebration to see someone make a break for it.....and then I left.

Today was an interesting day. I now have a 3 day weekend to bask in. And a nice company to go work for on Monday. "Office Administrator"...interesting title.
11:02 p.m. ::
prev :: next