PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

undressing the moon

Saturday, Nov. 22, 2003
Sometimes I buy books because the first line in the book is so killer good I just have to have it. Sometimes I buy them because I read a great review about a certain book and must own it. Other times I buy a book because a friend recommends it. A lot of times I buy books because Tod Goldberg lists them on his website and I totally trust his taste in novels. Other times I go to the bookstore and sit down on a Sunday afternoon with $2 worth of coffee and peruse through tons of new releases just to get a feel for what's new and going on. Sometimes I buy books because someone on diaryland is reading it and making it sound interesting. Sometimes it's a magazine article touting a wonderful book that gets me to make a purchase. Most of the time I buy books at used book stores if I can stand to wait for them to land there. Sometimes I buy books I shouldn't have bothered with at all. And then there are those wonderful times when I buy books from unusual sources like garage sales, ebay and used book stores I happen upon unexpected. I also have books that I received as gifts, and those have a special place in my world. But...yesterday was the first time I ever bought a book pure and simply because of the cover. I saw it and knew I was buying it. When I realized it was probably going to be a great book because the author is actually T.Greenwood of former fiction fame...I was thrilled. But I'm telling ya...in this instance it was all about the cover. ;-)



Notice I'm writing about books whenever I'm really dreading saying goodbye to Bucky who is going to PA on Tuesday..... :-(
11:11 a.m. ::
prev :: next