PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

when and then (poem)

Thursday, Jan. 02, 2003
when and then

There are pages in a journal
I bought for you and I
To exchange notes again
I thought about it
A drawer bound wish
One day when and then�

I never told you
And now
blank pages
and sugar coated teeth
Milk lined sour stomach
Turning blank sheets
Another ache a heart breaks

And I wonder
If I could write through this
Then wrap it up blue
Like your favorite dish
The one I never made
Because I always wait
Until its too late
To do what I should
Find a now to do

Maybe someday
I can cook for you
Again
Pass you this book
When you say god bless
And amen

But I�m late
Late just like how
I already too soon miss
The way you put your
Jeans on the bench
For the next morning
When I wasn�t even in bed yet

I walk by that corner
Of what used to be
And there�s nothing for the dawn
A plank of wood
And I screech to a halt in my mind
As fast as I meet my regret

Crawl back to that space
Stand still wiping tears
Remembering your blank face

I yank my jeans down
My trembling limbs
Placing them on the surface
Of your memory

For the morning

The morning

Maybe she won�t be so lonely
So raw
So empty
So cold now, my morning
Since I remembered to
Love with my now

-PoeticaL
2:58 a.m. ::
prev :: next