PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

you were so near (poem)

Friday, Sept. 13, 2002
you were so near

i look for you
everywhere i go
i know you�re not there
you�re already too far away
somehow i imagine
that if i stop glancing
i just might miss you
even more

in a dream last night
i stretched out every word
i ever wrote because of you
then i crawled on my
shaking hands and wobbly knees
across that wire high
i was inching closer
inch by faith it was a cinch

and then i woke up
walked sleepy down the hall
to find out in my mirror
that my heart must miss you
stronger than a silent rain
for in my sleep
it told my eyes to sigh
told the rain to fall

in my dream
you were there�
just on the other side
you were so near
close enough that
you were as clear
as every tear
i have cried

-PoeticaL


(for 't' with a prayer hoping that you are still safe....)
12:39 a.m. ::
prev :: next