PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

chai recipe - tough (poem)

Wednesday, May. 15, 2002

Ahhhhhhhh I don�t have much on my mind tonight. I feel free. Free of some chains that have been tying me all up. And I feel free from so many things right now. Something broke inside of me and while I bled for so long from it, I am healing and the scar is like a badge of honor.

I have started a new project with my friend Mad Prophet. It�s so kewl to have an idea for a project of sorts and have it be so welcome by someone else. We�re both gonna read the same book and talk through it. Way kewl. I�m going to post the page number I�m on every day and he and I will compare notes. Find a friend and �read� together. This is something you can do �with� an online pal. Distance prevents getting wasted on captain and coke together�so�

I�m in the middle of reading �Microserfs� by Douglas Copeland. Yeah I know�old book. But, its not that dated and it was $4.99 used so I�m reading. And I really like it.

So since I�m in the middle of reading a book tonight�.I�m gonna gift ya with a kewl recipe for Chai and then a poem I found on my computer I forgot all about...tra la la�

-PoeticaL

CHAI TEA

(makes 6 cups Concentrate)

12 whole cloves
4 whole black peppercorns
2 bay leaves
1 teaspoon cardamom
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground ginger
� teaspoon ground allspice
� teaspoon fennel seeds
� vanilla bean, cut in half

Combine spices with vanilla pieces. Store in an airtight container until you are ready to make the concentrate.

Concentrate (makes 3 cups)

1 tablespoon spice mix
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
4 cups water
2 tablespoons Darjeeling or other loose black tea
1. Combine 1 tablespoon spice mix with brown sugar and 4 cups water in a saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes on low, stirring occasionally. If you would like a stronger flavor, simmer a little longer. (you�re kitchen will smell wonderful)

2. Remove from heat and stir in tea. Cover and seep for 10 minutes. Strain concentrate into a glass measuring cup, pressing solids to estract all of the flavor. Discard spices. Cool concentrate. Store, covered in refrigerator for up to one week.

3. To serve, combine equal amounts concentrate and milk.

Serve hot or iced and enjoy�.
tough

I want to cruise you
on tires writing
Yellow lines of street time
To talk thru your
Latitude
The �right now� of it
Complete
�mine

to believe you
cut honesty from the
Alphabet
Lined up

Not disbelief
Strangled beneath
The perfected shit
Spit shined and puked back up

to swallow
Whole truth in
Lucid meals
From pretty the china cup

to stand my firm ground
Murder my fear then
in your presence be strong enough

Then�wrap lines of vulnerability�s
Around my voiced words
then let you play tough

I want to be me
Truthfully me
Tell you the ghetto dark pain

Oh to know that you see me
In here
A photograph standing tall
Despite my scars for a frame
11:42 p.m. ::
prev :: next