PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

cackle club

Tuesday, Apr. 25, 2006
Last night I had book club. We just finished reading �The Doctor�s Wife by Elizabeth Brundage (a 4 star novel on amazon). Everyone, but me, showed up late last night. I was not early but I was exactly on time. Everyone else was twenty minutes late. EVERYONE else. *sigh* Then, they proceeded to talk about

1. diets
2. personal trainers
3. dinner
4. careers
5. weather
6. marriage
7. divorce
8. children
9. children�s choice of colleges (the cheapest one in the area�crap education..I could barely listen to that topic.
10. neighbors selling dope (oh god please shoot those people, never mind the child molester�s who outnumber the non-child molesters in Florida�.)

They did not talk about

1. the book
2. the author
3. the characters
4. the plot
5. the ending

They did talk about (in reference to�oh yah we read a book didn�t we???)

1. abortion
2. divorce
3. cheating
4. sex

The next book has been chosen (by one person�.not by the group�how the hell did that happen after my choice of a book was scoffed at by all�.then loved by all but the chooser not thanked�) This book will be�.True Believer by Nicholas Sparks. (a 3 star novel on amazon!) I haven�t read any Nicholas Sparks because I�ve always ranked him in there with Danielle Steele. I wouldn�t have ever read a Nicholas Sparks novel if it were up to me and me alone. I hate that this group wants to sit and read every freaking novel that the bookstores place on the front end caps. *sic* I hate that aspect.

I remember telling people I feared joining a book club because it would turn into a cackle club more than a book club. I fear, after last night, that perhaps my fears have come true. However, I am holding out hardcore hope that I am wrong.

8:40 a.m. ::
prev :: next