PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

F o r e i g n e R

Sunday, Jun. 02, 2002
Yeah so I saw Foreigner tonight�.

The songs played, in order, were: 1. Dirty White Boy 2. Double Vision 3. At War WIth The World 4. Cold As Ice 5. Head Games 6. Fool For You Anyway 7. That Was Yesterday 8. Feels Like The First Time 9. Urgent 10. Juke Box Hero 11. Midnight Blue 12. I want To Know What Love Is 13. Hot Blooded

All in all, it was a great show. I really don't think that Mick Jones' guitar ever sounded clearer or better. Man, he sounded awesome.. Lou Gramm, although still sounding a bit huskier than years ago, sounded excellent and still has one of the best voices and ranges out there. The rest of the band was decent.

It was at an outdoor venue which I guesstimate holds about 2,500. From my vantage point, it looked like the place was sold out. The crowd was really, really, really into the show. During Juke Box Hero, I've never seen such huge numbers of people pumping their fists and/or singing along. It looked like the whole crowd was into this song.

The stage was sparse, just a "Foreigner" sign in the back drop. The show started with a pre-recorded old time sounding announcement about "the old tunes". Then, it sounded like an AM radio dial was being turned as you heard 2 second snipets of several Foreigner tunes. Next, there was a cool sounding countdown from 5 to 1, at which point the band came on stage and immediately went into Dirty White Boy. At War With The World sounded hard, gritty and great.

That Was Yesterday showed that Lou can still hit the high notes better than most any male rock singer. This was the long version of the song with the extended intro. Feels Like The First Time had much of the crowd on their feet singing along. It got one of the biggest responses of the night. Before, the start of Urgent, Mick played a solo instrumental lead in for about 1 minute. I'm not sure, but I think it may have been Street Thunder. Then again, maybe it wasn't. The sax solo on Urgent was longer than the studio version and sounded good, although the sax player did not have the showmanship of Mark Rivera. Mick Jones guitar sounded unreal during the guitar solo of Juke Box Hero. The band left the stage after JBH.

The encore began with Midnight Blue. When Midnight Blue began, a bunch of people moved up close to the stage. We had really good seats, so we could clearly see the grin from ear to ear on Lou's face as the crowd moved close. Maybe I'm nuts, but I think he was touched by the overwhelming response to this song. The crowd stayed close to the stage until the end. Hot Blooded sounded better to me than it had in years. Again, I think it was because Mick's guitar sounded so great.

At the end of the show, about 1/4 of the audience stayed for several minutes cheering and stomping their feet. The show was clearly over, but I guess the crowd was so into it that they tried to coax the band out for some more. But that was not to be had. All in all, it was a great show and I would recommend it to anyone. The length of the show, one hour and 15 minutes, was disappointing. Lou, at times, looked to appear somewhat physically tired and fatigued. Foreigner may not have the huge following it had back in the 80's, but the fans that remain and attended are still big fans.

I had goose-bumps the entire time. Every time I closed my eyes I felt like I was 14 again walking around my house with my headphones on ignoring everything and everyone else. In that zone that only music affords you. It just brought back so many feelings and memories it was overwhelming. When they played �Fool for you anyway� I was wiping tears and I really have no idea why. When they played �I want to know what love is� they asked the crowd to sing along. I asked my husband to dance with me and I noticed a lot of other couples doing the same thing. It was really just a kewl moment. It was the past dancing with the present. Every song had a memory for me.

We left the show and came to realize pretty quickly that our car had been towed and to make a long story short�.an hour for a cab, $115 to get car back�.�thank you for visiting sunny FL�.fuck you tourists��I�m glad I�m not one though�.double glad I had cash in pocket and �chalk it up to a *shrug* and thank you Lou Gramm for the memories. You totally rule in my heart and no tow truck is ever gonna change that!!! Just to see that big shiny FOREIGNER sign made my heart jump. Call it cheesy if you will but go download any Foreigner song and tell me that those guys couldn�t write a song!! When 20+ years pass and people are still able to sing every word to your songs�.that�s just plain amazing�

I still love you Lou Gramm and I still LOVE FOREIGNER!!!

Lou was my first love�.before Paul... Notice I don't go for great looks, I go for great lyrical/writing talented men! They are just beyond sexy.

-PoeticaL


"Fool For You Anyway"

Well I miss you honey
A little more every day
And I know if I kissed you
You'd be comin' back home to stay

'Cause I know I was wrong
But how long do I have to pay?

You know you belong here beside me
I'm a fool for you anyway
I'm a fool for you anyway
Well I cried for you so long
My river of tears ran dry
And I tried to be so strong
But grew weaker as time went by

You know your love left a mark on me
I don't think it will fade away

I'll sit here and wait 'til you come home
'Cause I'm a fool for you anyway
I'm a fool for you anyway
Fool for you anyway

You know your love left a mark on me, on me
I don't think it will fade away

I'll sit here and wait 'til you come home
'Cause I'm a fool for you anyway
'Cause I'm a fool for you anyway
I'm a fool for you anyway

Fool for you anyway
Fool for you anyway
'Cause I'm a fool for you anyway
A fool for you anyway
Fool for you anyway
I'm a fool for you anyway
-Foreigner
3:04 a.m. ::
prev :: next