PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

the threads that bind us

Monday, Aug. 01, 2005
My son�s Daddy bought him two shirts and two pairs of pants and a pair of tennis shoes that were on sale (over the ones he really wanted) and those were his school clothes.

Mommy thought�..not good enough.

So Mommy bought him 2 pairs of jeans, 2 pairs of shorts, 5 shirts, a pair of shoes, some new socks and a new backpack and a funky bead style necklace he liked. (Dad said he didn�t �need� a new backpack every single year. But what does Dad know?)

When Dad showed up last night (45 minutes late...with no explanation�) I noticed that he always has on something different. I�ve not seen him wear the same things twice. Of course I�m lucky and don�t see him often�but still. He�s also going on a vacation in August. But he can�t afford to buy his child adequate school clothes? Vacation benefits himself�.school clothes don�t. IE: Ex thinks of self first. But to be fair..he�s taking said child on that vacation. But to be honest, said child is also missing 3 days of school to go�.and recall the big speech I got when I took my son out of school early on one Friday not so long ago????? Phhhft�.

Let it be known that the items I bought for my son were chosen by said child. And we broke all of Daddy�s rules and shopped at �.*gasp* the MALL. We also bought jeans that are pre-ripped for that apparent cool kid factor and big baggy tan shorts with strings and all the other kewl factors that my son deemed necessary. He also got a new backpack!! I also bought him a new book (and a copy for myself) and we�re going to both read the same book.

In addition I should of course note that when I was a kid and wanted and begged for Jordache�.my mother said no. I do not have a spoiled child�.but I can assure anyone that I love him enough to give him all that I can.

He kept asking me what I thought of things he was trying on. He seemed amazed when I said, �It doesn�t matter what I think or like�.you have to wear these clothes not me.� He actually felt bad when he saw the totals show up on the cash registers. He said he felt bad. I told him� �Don�t feel bad, I am the parent�.and this is what I should do and besides�I want to.�
2:49 p.m. ::
prev :: next