PoeticaL
cluttering the net since 2001

top 5 (err...6) love songs

Friday, Apr. 25, 2003
Lisa 2 asked me for my top 5 love songs. Just 5 love songs? This has been in the back of my mind since she asked me. It�s very hard to narrow down to 5 but here they are, with the lyrical reasons behind my choices.

I miss you � Incubus

�To see you when I wake up, is a gift I didn't think could be real
To know that you feel the same, as I do, is a Three-fold utopian dream�

This is how I feel about Rick�every morning.

I will not take these things for granted � Toad the Wet Sprocket

to crawl inside the wire and feel something near me
to feel this accepting
that it is lonely here, but not alone
and on the telephone
you offer visions dancing

This song is beautiful, melodic�perfection. This passage reminds me of all those people that just were there when I needed them, when I wanted to die..a voice can save you from the nightmare of your own painful silence.

Lost Together � Blue Rodeo

In the silence of this whispered night
I listen only to your breath
And that second of a shooting star
Somehow it all makes sense

This song is another amazing love song that for me says everything. I�m probably always going to be lost in one way or another but knowing I am not alone gives me the strength to walk through anything.

Nobody � The Replacements

Take a look
on your wedding night
in your wedding book
see what name I signed
hey
love nobody,
nobody, nobody

My first boyfriend proposed, I said no. Two years later when he got married I thought of going to his wedding and sitting in the back. I thought of signing his guestbook in a way only he would know. I thought about it because first love makes you think these things sometimes. I didn�t do it because I realized I was �nobody� anymore.

I'd Be Better Off (In A Pine Box) � Doug Stone

I said the night you left me,
Nothin' worse could ever happen,
But seeing you with someone else proved that I was wrong.
And when your eyes met mine,
I knew that you were gone forever,
Along with all the reasons , I had for hanging on.
I'd be better off in a pine box,
On a slow train back to Georgia,
Or in the grey walls of a prison doing time.
I think I'd rather die,
And go to hell and face the devil,
Than to lie here with you and him together on my mind.

Being left is a universal love theme. Knowing this pain..makes this song hard to even listen to. Songs that cause a lump in your throat regarding love�.

Someday � Alan Jackson

She said all I've ever wanted was to love you
And somewhere deep inside me I still do
But now I think it's time I stopped believin'
'Cause I'm never gonna see a change in you

And I said someday
I'll get my life straight
And she said it's too late
What's done is done
And I told her someday
She said I can't wait

And sometimes the timing is all off and sometimes girl meets boy and boy isn�t convenient to love, but girl loves boy anyway. Sometimes today isn�t a possibility and someday is a promise that can�t get here soon enough but love doesn�t have a watch so time dictates that someone will suffer for hours wishing they could warp reality.

Yes that was 6 songs and here�s my honorable mentions:

If she would have been faithful - Chicago
Can�t help falling in love with you � Elvis Presley
Melt with you � Modern English
10:47 a.m. ::
prev :: next